nuggetsinthehood

New York City little known points of interest

For the Jazz Purists

Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC) ...

Image via Wikipedia

Last Thursday night, I attended a concert at the TRIBECA Performing Arts Center, located at the Borough of Manhattan Community College, 199 Chambers Street, NYC. The concert was REMEMBERING HANK JONES, featuring Joe Lovano, Jon Faddis, Junior Mance, Steve, Turre, George Mraz and Winard Harper with special guest Frank Wess. It was truly an evening of wonderful music. I have to admit that I don’t know these artists but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the music.

I’m sure the jazz purists out there recognize these names. I will definitely look for their names as I add to my CD collection. In the meantime, look into the TRIBECA Performing Arts Center for more concerts and events.

Jazz, the universal language. It speaks to everyone.

May 9, 2011 - Posted by | General | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

